Book Reviews

How the hell is it possible that standard medical training doesn’t routinely include information about endometriosis? It’s 2016, folks!

I have one question after reading this book. How the hell is it possible that standard medical training doesn’t routinely include information about endometriosis? It’s 2016, folks! Long past time to ditch the sexist medical models that birthed all that “hysteria” nonsense.

As someone who struggles with endometriosis and associated chronic pain, it is impossible to adequately express the frustration and hopelessness that accompanies being told that your pain is “in your head,” that “there’s nothing wrong with you,” or that “there’s nothing we can do about it anyway.” I understand that our emotions impact our bodies. I’m fully aware that sometimes our brains even create symptoms out of the blue, all by themselves.

But let me tell you this with zero uncertainty: there is a GARGANTUAN difference between a stress headache and the wrecking-ball, whole-body torture that is endometriosis.

And you want to know the worst part? The vast majority of doctors who “treat" endometriosis do so in a way that either ignores or exacerbates the problem. But I guess that’s no big deal, right? I mean, if you really want effective treatment, all you have to do is locate one of the handful of doctors in the country who specialize in excision surgery, schedule an evaluation months in advance, travel to them for a series of appointments over the course of several weeks, pay for it all (surgery included) out of pocket since the vast majority of insurance companies won’t, and cross your fingers you don’t need a second round to ameliorate your symptoms. Piece of cake.

So most of us are left thinking that we’re crazy or broken or weak. We stop talking about our pain (wouldn’t want to sound whiny, now would we?) and plow through the days as best we can, uselessly popping ibuprofen like candy and taking mid-work breathing breaks in the backseat of the car to avoid throwing up in a crowded public restroom or having to explain to our bosses and co-workers why we’ve suddenly fallen into the fetal position on the floor.

Dr. Tamer Seckin, one of said specialists, gets it. And this book of his is an incredible resource that I can’t believe I’ve not heard of until now. One of those ultra-validating, gives-you-goosebumps-its-so-accurate kind of books. Everyone should read it, uterus or no, because even if you don’t struggle with this kind of pain yourself, chances are there’s someone in your life that does, and they need your understanding and support.

Nora Tate

This book is a must read for anyone who is suffering from Endometriosis! Finally concise information that proves you are not alone and that the pain is not all I your head.

Gabrielle Carolina Nash

Easy to read, though at times hard to accept, this is a personalized guide into a condition few in the medical community pay attention to: endometriosis. Please pick up this short book, compiled of antidotal evidence accompanied by medical knowledge, to learn more about women's health and the possible side-effects in your own life.

Erika

Don't you just love books that make you feel less alone? I was diagnosed with advanced Endometriosis last June, and since then I've tried to learn as much as I can about managing and healing the disease and fighting for my fertility. There are limited resources out there but this book feels like a gift. It's like an Endo 101 course for anyone actively suffering from the disease, wondering if she might have it, family and friends of those who have a loved one with Endo and even doctors who want to have a better understanding of treatment.

A lot of people don't talk about the disease because of its personal nature and the stigma that comes along with discussing women's periods, but if I've learned anything it's that we are only as sick as our secrets and the more that is brought into the light, the better chance we have for hope and healing.

If you have Endo and want to feel understood, read this book. If you experience "killer cramps" during your period and know that something just isn't right about that, read this book. If you have a loved one with Endo and want to better understand her experience, read this book.

Bethany Baldwin

This compact primer on endometriosis is required reading for anyone effected by the disease. I read it straight through in a single sitting in the week following my own diagnosis. Often, I was openly crying as I read, tears flowing from a sense of relief and unburdening as I read the experiences of Dr. Seckin's patients, women whose experiences closely mirror my own, finding compassionate care, relief of their symptoms, and a new lease on life.

Shauna Coy

Clearly written and packed with information. Highly recommended for women who have endometriosis.

source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26490371-the-doctor-will-see-you-now#other_reviews


Hmmm something isn't right

....After doing some research, we came across Dr.Seckin and it was like a breath of fresh air. After going through the website, we discovered that he had written a book about endometriosis. My mom and I were glued to it and had tears and chills reading this amazing book. I instantly knew that he would be able to help me and scheduled an appointment immediately. After telling him my symptoms he said,"I believe you, you're here for a reason." Somehow I managed not to cry. Finally I had someone who didn't look at me like I was some crazy teenager and believed that the pain I was feeling was very real.

Read More:

 


WHAT LENA DUNHAM IS READING

Lena Dunham, Endometriosis, DrSeckin, Tamer Seckin

As people, but especially as women, we have to be our own medical advocates. Whether it's my friends making their way through the birth industrial complex or the ones deciding how to handle a chronic illness like Lyme, educating ourselves is power. Plus (and I'm a broken record on this), our pain — especially if it's located between belly button and ass crack — is often not treated with the seriousness we would hope. My particular journey to navigate has been endometriosis, and Tamer Seckin'sThe Doctor Will See You Now: Recognizing and Treating Endometriosis, written with sensitivity and spirit, is an amazing primer if you or someone you love is suffering. In a world where information is everywhere yet answers are hard to come by, Dr. Seckin offers comfort and guidance.

Source: //www.lennyletter.com/culture/reviews/g67/lit-thursday-a-primer-to-endometriosis-inspired-recepies-and-sci-fi/


Amazing Book - a must read for anyone affected by endometriosis

By PMNutrition on July 7, 2016

Format: Paperback Verified Purchase

Finally a compassionate and understanding doctor who truly understands the depth of endometriosis. My daughter and I purchased this book after reading about Dr. Seckin and the Endometriosis Foundation. I quite literally could not put the book down because I felt like I was reading about my daughter who has been suffering with endometriosis for 2 years and getting little guidance from her doctors. Every gynecologist should read this book to truly understand their patients. My daughter just had surgery with Dr. Seckin and is already seeing positive changes. Finally light at the end of a very long tunnel. His expertise in this area is second to none. If you have or suspect you have endometriosis, this book is a must read!


I has been living with chronic pain and discomfort for ...

By Amazon Customer on June 24, 2016

Format: Paperback

I has been living with chronic pain and discomfort for over a decade when I found this book. In reading it, for the first time it seemed as though there were a group of people that could identify with what I had been experiencing alone for so many years. It pushed me to look further into Endometriosis and the possibility that I may have it. A few months later, after finding a doctor, several consultations and laparoscopic surgery, I was diagnosed, treated and am now Endo free! Dr. Seckin's expertise and impassioned outlook on this disease and how it affects countless women makes it a must read!


A Miracle for Me and My Family - Should be Required Reading for Medical Students and Nurses in OB/GYN - May 23, 2016

By S. R. Hulstine - Format: Paperback

I was diagnosed with advanced endometriosis two weeks ago. My doctor thought I may have adenomyosis until he did surgery and found the endometriosis. I had frozen pelvis, cervical stenosis, and an ovarian endometrioma. I've felt bad for years and was misdiagnosed with fibromyalgia, depression, and arthritis. Long story short - I only had gastro symptoms in my younger years and only started having cramps about 2 years ago (I'm 44). Never had problems with infertility. I had NO CLUE that I had this, nor did any doctor ever mention the word "endometriosis" to me. When I woke up from surgery and the doctor told me, I wasn't even sure what it was. That's when I found this book on Amazon. Definitely 5 stars. I want to give a copy to every woman I know and every gynecologist in existence! Can't believe the MDs don't even understand this disease. I felt better immediately after surgery. I was having trouble even walking before this. Thank God, I had been referred to a gynecological oncologist who is a superb surgeon and so he knew what he was doing. I didn't realize what a blessing it was to have him until I read in this book how most surgeons don't know how to properly deal with endometriosis, not even gynecologists! This book should be required reading for OB/GYN medical students. Have been blowing up Facebook with information about this ever since! Buy this book and give it to anyone who is having mysterious health problems that have to do with IBS/gastro problems, infertility, fibromyalgia, etc. I asked my doctor how long I've had this and he said probably years. And I had no clue!


 

This book even though it's a medical book was easy to read and follow - May 18, 2016

By gosams - Format: Paperback

Having suffered from this horrid disease for the last few years, I can say that there's very little information out there. This book goes into detail on explaining all of the symptoms women suffer from. It offers support and makes you feel secure in the fact that help is out there and there is a doctor who can help you.
This book even though it's a medical book was easy to read and follow.
It helped me understand my health conditions so much better.
I would recommend this book to all women, whether or not you suffer from this illness.


 

**MUST HAVE BOOK FOR ANYONE SUFFERING WITH ENDOMETRIOSIS** - April 21, 2016

By Scoochyon - Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Finally a well written informative book that explains what Endometriosis is, the best treatments, & very detailed candid patient accounts. I could not put this book down! It is very easy to read and understand and I love the way the book flowed seamlessly from chapter to chapter. I cried all the way through reading it in relief that there is a specialist out there that really knows what he is talking about when it comes down to Endometriosis. Dr. Sekin doesn’t just explain what Endometriosis is he takes you on a journey of his many patients and how they have lived with this debilitating disease. He gives very detailed and candid patient accounts of how he successfully treated them and candidly explained how a patient’s surgery took a turn for the worst but the end result was a very happy one. He reassures you of his knowledge and experience.

This book is a must have for any woman suffering with Endo. Give it to family and friends to read to raise awareness and to help them understand what you are going through. Some people think you look ok but have no idea!! Read this and get comfort from it like I have - "It is NOT in your head!"


but also for gynecologists who are not up to date on the best treatments available - April 15, 2016

ByLinda M. Jose - Format: Paperback

A well-written and concise book on endometriosis. I hope that this work will help raise awareness about this disease not just for patients, but also for gynecologists who are not up to date on the best treatments available.


 

A must read for Anyone Affect by ENDOMETRIOSIS - April 3, 2016
ByMARIA A. LOSURDO - Format: Paperback

Finally a book that explains everything about endometriosis in a way that everyone can comprehend . I highly recommend this book to anyone who has this disease or has a love one who suffers from endometriosis. It has helped me to understand what my daughter is going through and it has helped her to know she is not alone in her pain. Thank you DR Seckin for putting your knowledge to print


Endo sisters, friends and family... a must read! - March 21, 2016
ByShalay Okebataon - Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Very informative! I didn't know where to start after three collapsed lung and lung surgery. Because of this book I've been able to create community with other women like myself with this staggering disease. Thank you Dr Seckin I'm now connected with EFA and will become better informed on how to best treat and understand my disease. Even more, I've purchased this book for my friends so they will better understand what I'm going through. "They don't understand what they can't see"


Excellent, informative book Mon March 15, 2016
ByDean - Format: Hardcover

Excellent, informative book. And actual writing—I like the diagrams in all the other endo books but I was hoping for something a bit more substantive. Thank you for writing this!


 

I found this book to be so informative. And ..., March 13, 2016
This review is from: The Doctor Will See You Now: Recognizing and Treating Endometriosis (Paperback)
I found this book to be so informative. And that I am not alone with the symptoms I've had. Dr. Seckin actually did surgery on me. If it wasnt for him, I wouldn't have had children. I was trying for five years, artificial insemination, IVF, laser surgery and nothing helped. Dr's said it was unexplained infertility. I had surgery by him and got pregnant twice NATURALLY! I can not thank him enough. He is very knowledgeable about this disease. And I can not say enough how compassionate he is in actually understanding what a woman goes through with this disease. Thank you for changing my life. I hope more women who are suffering from endometriosis can have the opportunity to meet you. I hope this book can bring more understanding about endometriosis that people till this day have no idea about.
 

By Elizabeth S on March 2, 2016 (Amazon - Format: Kindle Edition)

Great outlining of what endometriosis is and how to manage it from an expert's view. I truly enjoyed the patient stories and narratives–will definitely recommend it to a friend!


Peter K. Gregersen MD, Professor of Molecular Medicine, Hofstra-Northwell School of Medicine; Head, Robert S. Boas Center for Genomics and Human Genetics, Feinstein Institute for Medical Research.

Praise for “The Doctor Will See You Now; Recognizing and Treating Endometriosis” by Tamer Seckin, MD

“In this moving and informative book, Dr. Seckin provides an important resource for women with endometriosis - a common, widely misunderstood, and understudied condition. Recent research has revealed a major genetic component to endometriosis; now is the time for the scientific community to put serious resources into better understanding this complex inflammatory disorder. Targeted research can lead to earlier diagnosis, improved treatments, and eventually, preventative care to put an end to Endo.“


-- State Senator Jeff Klein

“Endometriosis cripples women without a proper diagnosis. Dr. Tamer Seckin’s The Doctor Will See You Now sheds light on this painful condition and advances the fight to help women with endometriosis through personal accounts and his breadth of knowledge. I’ve worked with Dr. Seckin’s co-founder of the Endometriosis Foundation of America, Top Chef star, Padma Lakshmi, to help women understand that there is hope and I know this book will do the same.”


CY Liu, MD, Past President, American Association of Gynecologic Laparoscopists (AAGL)

"Endometriosis ~ a condition that has caused much pain and grief to many women. This complex disease exhibits a wide spectrum of symptoms ranging from mild pain, cramps, and infertility to incapacitation. Easy to miss and difficult to treat, endometriosis is one of the most complicated gynecological diseases to manage and, severe endometriosis surgery can be more difficult to perform than even advanced cancer surgery. Contrary to the common belief that gynecologists in United States have the training, experience, and expertise in treating patients with endometriosis, in reality, few gynecologists are skilled in this subspecialty. Surgery often involves the bowel, bladder, and the ureters (the pair of tubes connecting the kidneys to the bladder). If you have been diagnosed with endometriosis and need to have surgery, please be do your research first before turning your complex condition to just any gynecologist. Remember that . . . Your first surgery could be the most important -- Your surgeon should be the best! One of the best endometriosis surgeons is Dr. Tamer Seckin, a premier gynecologist specializing in endometriosis. Throughout my practice and teaching career, I have personally observed numerous top surgeons, both in Europe and North America, performing difficult endometriosis surgery in their operating rooms and, without hesitation, I can recommend Dr. Seckin as one of the best of the best."


Harry Reich, MD, First U.S. gynecologic surgeon to use the laparoscope to excise deep endometriosis of the ovary and rectum.

"Dr. Seckin blends his knowledge and surgical skills with compassion and understanding of patient concerns. His many years of hands on experience and patient interaction combine to make this book a very worthwhile read."